State Runner-up

2009  2005

1992  1982

Helena Capital Bruin Coaches

Bruin Winning Tradition:

Stand and cheer for the gold and brown
As we fight to win the victory crown
We will win because our name’s renown
We’re the Bruins of Capital High
We’re the Bruins dressed in our gold and brown
And our foe we will put down
As with honor we will win
At each game our school begins

We will fight to give our school a name
That will make us proud at every game
We will be the envy of each town
As we proudly wear our gold and brown


Powered by The Westside Football Club

Helena Capital Fight Song

Head Coach: Kyle Mihelish
Assistant Coach: Russ McCarvel
Assistant Coach: Lee Carter
Assistant Coach: Tom Kain
Assistant Coach: Dick McMahon
Assistant Coach: Casey Norbeck
Assistant Coach: Ryan Fetherston
Assistant Coach: Jeff Mahana
Assistant Coach: Mathew Reyant
Assistant Coach: Coby Furlong

Assistant Coach: Austin Ybarra

Assistant Coach: Shawn Maharg

Assistant Coach: Reid Christiansen

Frosh Coach: Lucas Canney
Assistant Frosh Coach: Jared Hunt

Assistant Frosh Coach: Steve Bartmess

State Champions

2011 2008  2007  2006  2002  2000

1999  1996  1993  1987  1978

Photos by Kelly Burton

Bruin Football Nation News


20 Bruins Listed on AA All-State Team

Story in the Helena Independent Record

First Team Offense
Offensive guard – Conor Quick, Capital;

Wide receiver – Will Hunthausen, Capital;

Second Team Offense
Center – Garrett Mackay, Capital;

Honorable Mention Offense
Tight end – Robert McCarvel, Capital;
Offensive tackle – Michael Smith, Capital;
Wide receiver – Danny Burton, Capital;
Running back – Daniel O’Malley, Capital;
Quarterback – Carter Pappas, Capital

First Team Defense
Defensive end – Cole Rossing, Capital;
Defensive lineman – David Peterson, Capital;
Inside linebacker – Trevor Larson, Capital;
Outside linebacker – Riley Lamb, Capital;

Honorable Mention Defense
Defensive lineman – Cullen Donahoe, Capital;
Outside linebacker – Marcus Welnel, Capital;
Safety – Matt Lesofski, Capital;
Cornerback – Giovanni Callero, Capital;

First Team Special Teams
Long snapper – Michael Smith, Capital.

Honorable Mention Special Teams
Punter – Will Hunthausen, Capital;
Kick returner – Danny Burton, Capital;

21 Bruins Listed on Western All-Conference Teams; Rosling Defense MVP (Helena IR Story)

First Team

  • Wide receivers -- Will Hunthausen,Capital,6-2,170,Sr.
  • Offensive guard -- Conor Quick,Capital,6-1,260,Soph Garrett Mackay,Capital,6-1,210,Sr.
  • Long snapper -- Michael Smith,Capital,6-2,215,Sr.

Second Team

  • Quarterback -- Carter Pappas,Capital,5-10,175,Jr.
  • Running backs -- Daniel O'Malley,Capital,6-0,160,Sr.
  • Wide receivers -- Danny Burton,Capital,5-9,165,Sr.;
  • Tight end -- Robert McCarvel,Capital,6-1,190,Sr.
  • Offensive tackle -- Michael Smith,Capital,6-2,215,Sr.
  • Punter -- Will Hunthausen,Capital,6-2,170,Sr.
  • Kicker -- Braxton Kent,Capital,5-10,170,Sr.


Defensive MVP -- Cole Rosling, Capital
First Team

  • End -- Cole Rosling,Capital,6-4,215,Sr.
  • Linemen -- David Peterson,Capital,6-1,220,Sr.
  • Inside linebackers -- Trevor Larson,Capital,6-0,180,Sr.;
  • Outside linebackers -- Riley Lamb,Capital,6-0,185,Sr.;

Second Team

  • Linemen -- Cullen Donahoe,Capital,6-2,240,Sr.
  • Outside linebackers -- Marcus Welnel,Capital,6-0,190,Jr.;
  • Safeties -- Matt Lesofski,Capital,5-9,160,Sr.
  • Corners -- Giovanni Callero,Capital,6-0,175,Sr.
  • Punt returner -- Danny Burton,Capital,5-9,165,Sr.
  • Kickoff returner -- Danny Burton,Capital,5-9,165,Sr.